Day 1 (AGAIN)

SO…my little “new year, new me” reboot didn’t go quite according to plan.  Even with going grocery shopping and doing a big meal prep, my heart wasn’t in it.  So I backslid.  Everything was so promising on 1/1/15 as I went to yoga.  Then, it was lunch time to celebrate my stepdad’s birthday.  I tried to be good, but the sandwiches be callin’ me.  🙂

Therefore, today is my new day 1.  According to George Eliot, “It is never too late to be what you might have been.”  I did a big cookup this weekend.  I made:
Brazilian curry chicken

Bone broth
Chili chicken verde
Vegetarian minestrone
Chicken & vegetable soup
Shrimp chowder (dairy free)
Raspberry hot wings
Roasted broccoli & cauliflower
Spicy cauliflower rice

I think I’m going to enjoy everything except the minestrone.  I’m just not a huge tomato fan.

I also went to the gym today, since the office had a 2-hour delay.  Yup, I stepped on the dreaded scale, and found that I’m back up to 245.75.  So there’s that.

20150112_092030

Actually, in the interest of transparency, I was going to the gym even if the office had opened on time.  This just gave me more time to putter around at home.  My plan had been to get in 3.1 miles so that I’d be ready for Miami, but that didn’t quite happen.  My knee started twinging early, so I stopped early.  Still, these were my first steps in many months!  The plan had been to do 2 minutes of walking at 3.5 mph, alternating with 1 minute of running at 5 mph.  I got through two sets before I started bargaining and wanting to do 5:1 intervals instead of 2:1 intervals.  I told myself “See, you shouldn’t start your next run at the 43 minute mark.  Start it at the 40 minute mark cuz that’s a nice round number.”  Meanwhile, my knee was throbbing away.

20150112_094342

Day 1 Meal 1: Brazilian Curry Chicken.  This stuff is so good.  It’s spicy and flavorful and tender.  And the best part is that it was cooked in a slow cooker, so I didn’t have to slave over a stove.  I got the recipe here: http://paleomg.com/leftovers-brazilian-curry-chicken/

20150112_103951

Standard

Leave a Reply

